



First European Silver Economy Awards Ceremony

3 May 2018

Hosted by the Committee of the Regions, Brussels

Note for Trophy Givers

Powered by the EU-funded SEED project, the European Silver Economy Awards celebrate and reward initiatives from all sectors that help to improve the quality of life of senior citizens.

Through the showcasing of innovative ICT-related products, the Awards aim to raise awareness on and strengthen the European Silver Economy movement. These amazing contenders embody the breadth of potential consumer markets and public spending involved in this movement, not to mention the various opportunities available for entrepreneurs, investors, public authorities and civil society.





The first Awards Ceremony is the opportunity to learn more about the nine finalists who will present their solutions and to award the winning applications.



We thank **Mariya Gabriel**, Commissioner for Digital Health and Society, and **Markku Markkula**, First Vice-President of the Committee of the Regions, for giving their moral patronage to this first edition of the European Silver Economy Awards.





From 13:15	Registration
14:00	Welcome by the moderator, <i>Anne-Sophie Parent</i> , AGE Platform Europe, Secretary General
14:15	Opening speech Digital innovation for active and healthy ageing: which contribution from the European Commission to the Silver Economy? <i>Mariya Gabriel</i> , Commissioner for Digital Health and Society [Video message]
14:30	 Panel discussion: challenges and opportunities of the Silver Economy Peter Varnai, Technopolis Group, Principal Pia Erkinheimo, Finnish Business Angels Network, Board member Joan Martin, Louth County (Ireland), Chief Executive Ebbe Johansen, AGE Platform Europe, President Karen Boers, European Startup Network, President Questions & Answers with the audience
15:45	Coffee Break
16:15	 Discover the nine finalists of the 2018 European Silver Economy Awards Public Authorities Non-for profit organisations For-profit organisations
17:15	Concluding speech Silver Economy: what is in it for local and regional authorities? <i>Markku Markkula</i> , First Vice President, Committee of the Regions





17:30 - 19:30 Awards Ceremony & Reception (Atrium 5)

We intend to start giving the trophies from 17:45. Sonja Müller (empirica) and Julia Wadoux (AGE Platform Europe) will make sure to gather you nearby the podium from 17h40. And we will make sure to provide with any support you may need.

The Ceremony will be moderated by Andy Bleaden (ECHAlliance).

The order will be the following:

1- Public Authorities

- Winner Markku Markkula & Ebbe Johansen (President of AGE Platform Europe)
- Second Mathieu Mori (AER Secretary General) & Jose-Luis Tejedor (AGE Platform Europe)
- Third Mathieu Mori (AER Secretary General) & Fernando Martins (AGE Platform Europe)

2- Non-for profit organisation

- Winner Markku Markkula & Ebbe Johansen (President of AGE Platform Europe)
- Second Carina Dantas (VP Covenant Demographic Change/Cáritas Coimbra) &
 Laura Christ (AGE Platform Europe)
- Third Carina Dantas (VP Covenant Demographic Change/Cáritas Coimbra) &
 Dario Paoletti (AGE Platform Europe)

3- For-profit organisation

- Winner Markku Markkula & Ebbe Johansen (President of AGE Platform Europe)
- Second Nicole Denjoy (COCIR Secretary General) & Andrea Ferenczi (AGE Platform Europe)
- Third Nicole Denjoy (COCIR Secretary General) & Vassilis Louziotis (AGE Platform Europe)

Please remember that the 9 finalists are not aware of the final ranking and that the decision made by the High Level Jury will be public only at the end of the day.

For those of you who have been involved in the evaluation process, make sure you do not share any information before the Ceremony!!! Thank you.

